Hi Jeannie C Riley,
isn’t the internet amazing? I can’t believe you found me.
This all stared innocently enough with my brothers and I a few  weeks ago over a few drinks. We decided to find our favourite songs on the internet and made a party out of it! Through the cloudy haze of a Saturday night we started drinking at Clayton Delaney’s and wound up at Kelly’s Bar and Grill – and there you were.

It’s been great getting to know you. I didn’t realize you’d quietly suffered for so long. I wish you all the best and thank you for your beautiful music over the years. I hear Tom T. is a pig farmer now near Franklin TN. A friend of mine has lined up a potential meeting between us next fall. I may even record one of his songs.

Anyway, thanks again and YES I stand behind my sentiments: You were beautiful then as I’m sure you are today!

P.S. – It looks like they were prepping you for a Woodstock appearance in this video! The music biz eh?

Cheers,
Jay

4 thoughts on “Truth is stranger than fiction

  1. Hi, Jay,

    Tom T. Hall is far more than a pig farmer in suburban Nashville. With his wife Dixie he is an intensely active songwriter. Those of us who follow the scene have heard the new Hall/Hall songs cut by bluegrass acts, so frequently in fact that I once cracked it may now be illegal for a bluegrass band to record an album without at least one.

    These, by the way, are among the finest songs Hall’s ever composed. He’s long past needing the money, so he and Miss Dixie write from the heart. Most of the material sounds as if pulled from the folk-ballad tradition. Probably my all-time favorite is “Pretty Green Hills” (on Dave Evans’s 2006 County CD of the same name), but there are no bad ones that I’ve ever heard.

    The Halls also are regular presences at bluegrass festivals. They also run a small boutique label specializing in recordings in the genre.

    And finally, years ago, I am proud to say, Tom T. covered “Famous in Missouri,” which I co-write with Robin Williams (the folk singer, not the comedian/actor), as a single and album cut.

  2. Jay,

    Thanks for the offer. It’s on YouTube at the URL above.

    Those corny strings in the arrangement are from the Nashville Sound era, when Hall cut “Famous in Missouri.” Even so, I like his version, which he recorded in the early 1980s. Robin & Linda Williams also did it on an out-of-print Sugar Hill CD, Turn Toward Tomorrow (1993). It’s been covered by other artists, none famous in Missouri or elsewhere.

    You’ll note the misattributed composer credit, followed by the correction in the comments. (Actually, technically, the writers are just Robin and me. Linda was not involved in this one.) I wrote the lyrics, inspired by a passing reflection that one can be well known (or notorious) in one place and entirely obscure in another.

  3. And it sure feels strange to be in South Dakota out on the range!
    Hey Jerry – now that just ain’t fair. I have a show in three hours to prepare for and now this is stuck in my head.
    How in the hell can I rehearse properly with this in my head?
    Thanks my friend. It’s a beauty!

Leave a Reply

